PDA

View Full Version : Confusing Call Still Has Baseball Buzzing



BAMAPHIN 22
10-14-2005, 02:50 PM
As much hype as A.J. Pierzynski's heads-up play is generating, manager Ozzie Guillen insists it will mean little if the Chicago White Soxs fail to reach the World series.

"If we win, it's going to be here forever," Guillen said as Chicago prepared for Game 3 of the AL championship series against the Los Angeles Angels on Friday night.

"If we lose, then we'll forget about it," he said. "The thing is, if we win, it's going to be on the highlights for the rest of the years."

Everybody was still talking Thursday about Chicago's controversial 2-1 victory in Game 2, highlighted by Pierzynski's dash to first base following what appeared to be a swinging strikeout. The White Sox watched replays in the clubhouse before working out at Angel Stadium, while some fans vowed to let plate umpire Doug Eddings have it for what they believe was a blown call that cost the Angels a chance to win in extra innings.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20051014/ap_on_sp_ba_ne/bba_alcs;_ylt=ApeFR705K6cgBNX4fXiUZpWs0NUE

Roman529
10-14-2005, 06:51 PM
That is all they seem to be talking about is this call, even Jim Rome spent about three hours on his show going over it....the bottom line is this: The catcher should not have assumed anything or lobbed the ball back to the mound...he should have thrown in to first to gaurantee the out....don't blame Eddings...blame the catcher.

MikeO
10-14-2005, 07:55 PM
That is all they seem to be talking about is this call, even Jim Rome spent about three hours on his show going over it....the bottom line is this: The catcher should not have assumed anything or lobbed the ball back to the mound...he should have thrown in to first to gaurantee the out....don't blame Eddings...blame the catcher.

The catcher CAUGHT the ball. It was an out. The UMP gave the out signal. How can you blame the catcher????????

Ray Finkle
10-14-2005, 08:38 PM
The catcher CAUGHT the ball. It was an out. The UMP gave the out signal. How can you blame the catcher????????

I have to agree with MikeO, the ump gave the fist meaning the batter was out. I have no idea what went through the umps head (but it must have been a pretty big brain fart). The only arguement in blaming the catcher I guess is that the ump didn't say "out" although since the ump did the fist techically its an out. Of course the catcher shouldn't have assumed it either....

finfansince72
10-15-2005, 03:45 AM
That ump gave the out signal, he should be suspended for causing such a huge mistake with his dump 'signature' strike and out call. He shouldnt be allowed to do the playoff games this year.