View Full Version : Eslinger wins Outland Trophy as top lineman

12-10-2005, 06:41 PM
Minnesota (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86060) center Greg Eslinger won the Outland Trophy on Thursday night as the nation's top lineman to become the first Gophers (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86060) player to win the award since 1962.

The other finalists were Oregon (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86096) defensive tackle Haloti Ngata and Auburn (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86104) offensive tackle Marcus McNeill.

Eslinger is part of an offense that averaged a school record 497.8 yards this season and ranked third in the nation in rushing with 279.9 yards per game.

He is the third Minnesota (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86060) player to win the Outland, joining tackle Bobby Bell in 1962 and guard Tom Brown in 1960.

Huff wins Thorpe Award

Texas (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86138) safety Michael Huff won the Thorpe Award as the best defensive back in the country on Thursday night.

Huff beat out Virginia Tech (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86054) cornerback and Clemson (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86040) cornerback Tye Hill to become the first Longhorns (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86138) player to win the award.

Huff has 97 tackles and two interceptions for the second-ranked Longhorns (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86138).

The 6-foot-1, 205-pound senior holds school records for most career interceptions returned for a touchdown with four and most touchdowns scored by a defensive player with five.

Auburn (http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/team/86104)'s Carlos Rogers won the award last season.