PDA

View Full Version : Computer dudes...need some help.

unifiedtheory
01-04-2006, 01:47 AM
Hey techys.

I'm having a home network issue. I'm a web designer and develloper and know NOTHING about networking.

I have a D-Link DI-604. The issue I'm having is that I lose my internet connection. Everything is fine and then I have nothing. When I reboot my router (unplug and replug it in) my connection returns to normal and then the whole cycle starts again.

It usually happens every 15-45 minutes and it is driving me insane.

I reset the router and basically reinstalled it. My modem is running just fine.

I would like to know if anyone has either:

Had this issue before and was able to fix it
Has any tips I could try to fix this
I've contacted the D-Link helpline but they have been slow in getting back to me (surprise, surprise).

I'm really trying to avoid replacing the router if I can. It's about 3 years old so I figure I've got my moneys worth but I'd like to troubleshoot this to make sure it is the issue. I don't want to buy a new one only to find out that the router was'nt the issue.

byroan
01-04-2006, 03:30 AM
You said your modem is running fine, have you tried using it without the router?

Have you changed anything in your router settings? How many computers are on the router?

unifiedtheory
01-04-2006, 04:01 AM
You said your modem is running fine, have you tried using it without the router?

Have you changed anything in your router settings? How many computers are on the router?

2 machines on the router and my roomy is having the same issue.

I plugged my modem into my machine and did not have any issues what so ever.

My router settings are the default ones (it went back to default settings when I reset the router). I reset the router and installed it as per the instructions.

byroan
01-04-2006, 04:02 AM
Is DHCP turned on?

Buddwalk
01-04-2006, 07:47 AM
Hey techys.