View Full Version : NFL: Polamalu call was a mistake

01-17-2006, 01:13 PM
he NFL said the referee made a mistake: Troy Polamalu (http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/player/140433) caught the ball.

The league acknowledged Monday that Referee Pete Morelli erred when he overturned on replay Polamalu's interception of a Peyton Manning (http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/player/69814) pass Sunday in the playoff game between Pittsburgh and Indianapolis.

Mike Pereira, the league's vice president of officiating, said in a statement that Morelli should have let the call on the field stand.

"He maintained possession long enough to establish a catch," Pereira said. "Therefore, the replay review should have upheld the call on the field that it was a catch and fumble."


01-17-2006, 01:19 PM
No ****. I could have told you and them that soon as I saw the play. Just like I know it was a catch when Chambers caught the TD against the JETS on Sunday night Football that would have won the game about 3 years ago. At that time they had internet voting along with the game for reviews and 98% of the Fans who voted at home said it was a TD. Yet the refs tried to say he juggled it which he didnt even come close to doing. **** cost us the playoffs that year too.