PDA

View Full Version : What I do to play wirelessly on PS2



AquaInferno
02-14-2006, 08:30 PM
This may or may not work for those with Xboxs and 360 (360 shoulda had wireless internally, shame on you M$)

First you need a wireless router, a PC to configure the router, and a wireless access point. I'm using a Gateway wireless router, they only make 1, and a Dlink-DWL810 as my wireless access point.

Connect the router to your PC and configure it, (Read the manual on how to configure all routers are different) make sure it broadcasts your SSID, give the SSID something you'll recognize, DO NOT CALL IT LINKSYS everyone calls it that, Call it Linkysystem or something ANYTHING is better than Linksys as your SSID. You just don't wanna get on the wrong network. Now while configuring you should enable and set a WEP, WEP is like a wireless network password copy/paste the passwords into a notepad file. You'll need to put these in the wireless access point when you configure it.

When you're done with the router, it should be broadcasting its SSID and have a WEP, once you're done with that then you're good on the router.

Next comes the wireless access point, you must connect that to your pc in order to get it ready for your console. Connect to the wireless access point like you did the router, except what your goal here is, is to find the wireless network you created, so having a 2nd pc helps. You ned to tell it the SSID you gave to the router, and those WEP passwords I told you about, tell it t use those. Once you've setup your access point, don't try and connect with it on your pc, just take it to the console and see if it works.

I hope this helps!

PS: While setting up the router change the user name and password from the default, if you follow my instructions no one can steal your wireless internet and go to kiddie porn sites and get the feds at your door.

NuttyFin
02-15-2006, 10:41 PM
So with this would all I need to do is plug one end into my modem and the other into my PS2 and im ready to play online?

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2282,CONTENTID=9752

AquaInferno
02-19-2006, 11:35 AM
So with this would all I need to do is plug one end into my modem and the other into my PS2 and im ready to play online?

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2282,CONTENTID=9752

Ahh, so someone created a simple approach to wireless console gaming. Yea from my understanding one of these boxes needs to be in your modem, so I assume your pc will be without internet while you have this thing in use. But I'd imagine this would work if you just plugged it into a normal wired router if you have one. I just hope its secure.