PDA

View Full Version : Vonage



Mindwarp
03-20-2006, 04:30 PM
anyone use Vonage?
Thoughts on them? I am thinking of switching to them.

ILPhinFan88
03-20-2006, 04:41 PM
anyone use Vonage?
Thoughts on them? I am thinking of switching to them.


Last I heard they were having problems with 911 systems, you might check and make sure it works in your area.

Celtkin
03-20-2006, 05:21 PM
I use it and am very happy with the service. My suggestion is to place the order over the phone and ask them to waive the start up fee. It'll save you some money.

With tax, I am paying around 29.99 a month for unlimited calls. Most areas have 911 coverage and the areas that don't route 911 calls to their 911 center and forward the info to your 911 provider

Talos
03-20-2006, 05:28 PM
You should ask our Partner Support Specialist, she uses it Mindwarp. And we all know how much you love talking to her.

Pagan
03-20-2006, 05:31 PM
Is it true when you call customer service they put you on hold with that "Woo hoo, woo hoo hoo..." music on until you get annoyed and hang up? :tongue:

Buddwalk
03-20-2006, 05:38 PM
Is it true when you call customer service they put you on hold with that "Woo hoo, woo hoo hoo..." music on until you get annoyed and hang up? :tongue:


oh god I hope not :lol:

Jimmy James
03-20-2006, 06:22 PM
I switched about a month ago. Here are the quick hits:

1) If the power goes, so does your phone (unless you have a battery backup on your Vonage box and everything all the way back to your high speed connection)
2) If you call 911, you should either get your local emergency response center if you have registered your box as required or Vonage's emergency response center. You need to be prepared to give your name, address, and phone number.
3) If something goes screwy with your high speed connection, your phone is going to be screwed up as well.
4) If your high speed connection has a high latency, you're not going to get good results. You can go to vonage-forum.com and easily find out how to test that before going to Vonage.
5) The Vonage customer support is said to suck.

For my household made up of my wife and me, it makes sense to switch and lower our phone bill by more than 50%. If I had a small child, I wouldn't be so cavalier.

Mindwarp
03-20-2006, 09:12 PM
question... can you use your own phones, or do you have to use their phones?

MrClean
03-20-2006, 10:31 PM
Here is a similar one that I recently found out about.
www.packet8.net

They are less expensive b/c taxes are included in the rates. Or so they said. I have not read the fine print

Jimmy James
03-20-2006, 10:40 PM
question... can you use your own phones, or do you have to use their phones?

You can buy phone systems that work directly with their product (my parents have the VTech system), but you don't have to. My Vonage service comes from a Linksys wireless router and VOIP box. There is a phone jack on the back of the box that I have my regular old phones hooked up into.

If you can make sure your internal wiring is disconnected from the telco, you can apparently even work things to where you run a normal phone cable from the box to any phone jack to give you phone service from all of the rest of the jacks. I haven't fiddled with that yet.

Jimmy James
03-20-2006, 10:42 PM
Here is a similar one that I recently found out about.
www.packet8.net

They are less expensive b/c taxes are included in the rates. Or so they said. I have not read the fine print

It's my understanding that their service reliability and customer service response are worse than Vonage. I considered them but dismissed them after hearing more than one person make that claim.

Mindwarp
03-21-2006, 08:43 AM
You can buy phone systems that work directly with their product (my parents have the VTech system), but you don't have to. My Vonage service comes from a Linksys wireless router and VOIP box. There is a phone jack on the back of the box that I have my regular old phones hooked up into.

If you can make sure your internal wiring is disconnected from the telco, you can apparently even work things to where you run a normal phone cable from the box to any phone jack to give you phone service from all of the rest of the jacks. I haven't fiddled with that yet.


Cool beans. Thanks dude.

Astro_Fiend
03-21-2006, 09:48 AM
i haven't had many problems. the biggest thing was how long it took to switch my existing number over to vonage. we were paying two bills for a couple months (though vonage would refund each month after the first that the number didnt get switched) but it wasn't really vonage's fault since sprint had to release the number before vonage could take it over.

if your power goes or your internet connection, yes your phone is down, but one nice thing is that they have call forwarding, so if your net is down it will forward it to another number you specify (i used my cell phone). also, they have a service (i forget what it's called) that you can set up so that multiple phone numbers can ring at the same time. i had it so that for a while our number would ring at our home, our business, and my wife's cell phone simultaneously so we wouldn't miss calls when we were here or there...

anyway, we haven't had much of a problem with it and it saves us 20 or 30 bucks a month on phone bills...

Celtkin
03-21-2006, 10:45 AM
i haven't had many problems. the biggest thing was how long it took to switch my existing number over to vonage. we were paying two bills for a couple months (though vonage would refund each month after the first that the number didnt get switched) but it wasn't really vonage's fault since sprint had to release the number before vonage could take it over.

if your power goes or your internet connection, yes your phone is down, but one nice thing is that they have call forwarding, so if your net is down it will forward it to another number you specify (i used my cell phone). also, they have a service (i forget what it's called) that you can set up so that multiple phone numbers can ring at the same time. i had it so that for a while our number would ring at our home, our business, and my wife's cell phone simultaneously so we wouldn't miss calls when we were here or there...

anyway, we haven't had much of a problem with it and it saves us 20 or 30 bucks a month on phone bills...

I think that is more a function of the old phone company. My number transferred in about 7 days.

Astro_Fiend
03-21-2006, 10:48 AM
well, like i said i dont really blame vonage for that, they had their **** in line pretty quick, everyone was just waiting on sprint to release the number...

Jimmy James
03-21-2006, 01:57 PM
I think that is more a function of the old phone company. My number transferred in about 7 days.

My number took 13 days. They definitely have gotten faster than they were this time last year. People were waiting 6 months back then, and it actually was the fault of the company Vonage was using to handle LNP. They either fixed the problem or found a new company. 2 months does happen sometimes, but it is usually the fault of the telco and not Vonage when that happens nowadays.