PDA

View Full Version : A question for the Computer Nerds



Dajesus
03-24-2003, 01:57 AM
From an aspiring comp nerd. I have a DVD rom on my computer, and want to be able to copy DVDs to my hardrive. Does anyone know what program I am going to need to do this?

Justasportsfan
03-24-2003, 10:04 AM
You don't want to do that. It will eat up your HD space. A dvd has as much as 6 gigs of HD space. As to what program, I heard Pinnacle is a good one for video editing. Sorry I can't help much on the software side.

http://www.expert-guides.com/

Check it out or look in cnet.com

dolphan39
03-24-2003, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by Dajesus
From an aspiring comp nerd. I have a DVD rom on my computer, and want to be able to copy DVDs to my hardrive. Does anyone know what program I am going to need to do this? I get spam about that at least once a day - I'll save the next one for you ;)

Dajesus
03-24-2003, 01:20 PM
Originally posted by justafan
You don't want to do that. It will eat up your HD space. A dvd has as much as 6 gigs of HD space. As to what program, I heard Pinnacle is a good one for video editing. Sorry I can't help much on the software side.

http://www.expert-guides.com/

Check it out or look in cnet.com

I am aware that they take up a lot of room, but that isn't a concern. I am eventully going to put a 200 gig HD on my comp, but you can also rip a DVD and convert it to a divx file and it only takes up about 1 gig. I know of a few programs that will let you do it, but I am looking for a free one if anyone knows of 1.

Justasportsfan
03-24-2003, 02:22 PM
don't quote me on this (yeah right :lol: ) check out the link and see if it's available at kazaa lite. Good luck.

Muck
03-24-2003, 09:24 PM
I've got some really great software. It's at work though. I'll have to get it tomorrow.

Dajesus
03-24-2003, 10:53 PM
If you get it my AOL IM name is spendre666, and i have can get files over it very fast.

poornate
03-24-2003, 10:57 PM
Anyone know why i can't play VCD's on my computer?

Muck
03-25-2003, 12:22 AM
Cuz you're computer is stupid and can't read good. :tongue:

Seriously, it's all a matter of software and/or having the proper codecs. Do you have PowerDVD?? Do you have Windows Media Player 9 and all the newest codecs?? How about Divx??

Dajesus
03-25-2003, 12:30 AM
Originally posted by poornate
Anyone know why i can't play VCD's on my computer?

It sounds like a ESO problem to me. Equipment Smarter than Operator. I am just playing with you. Go to www.downloads.com and download Divx. You should have no problem after that.

poornate
03-25-2003, 12:40 AM
way past me. you're looking at 90% of my computer use. football. i've played vcd's before but have not updated any software. thans, i'll try that.

p.s.-i know the computer is smarter than me.

ohall
03-25-2003, 09:59 AM
Originally posted by poornate
way past me. you're looking at 90% of my computer use. football. i've played vcd's before but have not updated any software. thans, i'll try that.

p.s.-i know the computer is smarter than me.

Are you sure they are VCD or SVCD? VCD is MPEG1 (VHS quality)and SVCD is MPEG2 (DVD quality). If it's SVCD, MPEG2 you will have to have the correct codec. If you download a DVD player it should have no problem playing SVCD or VCD.

This is a good site for codecs. http://www.doom9.org/ and this is a must site if you want to do anything with VCD or SVCD http://www.dvdrhelp.com/

Also try downloading this codec pack, Nimo. But before you do install it make sure to install DiVX 3.01 and then 5.03. http://www.divx-digest.com/software/nimo_pack.html

Oliver...