PDA

View Full Version : BackYard Drills: with Bill Parcels Review

A Wing Pilot
08-01-2006, 01:39 PM
I Like many of you saw the add for the 30 day free trial of BackYard Drills staring Bill parcels on NFL network or ESPN. It is a training video targeted towards Father/Son at home training. You can see more information here (https://www.asseenontvnetwork.com/vcc/procede/backyarddrills/216517/). As a coach myself and father of 2 I felt I should give this a try. So I ordered it with rush shipping ( Total out of pocket $20) with the commitment to pay $150 more split into 3 payments. So dad, your shelling out near $180 to teach your son/daughter football! I have paid hundreds for good videos and trust me they are few and far between. So lets get to the review:

Disc 1 & 2: Offense and Defense
Runtime: Over 4 hours combined
Positions covered: All Offense and defensive positions

Review as a coach: 90% crap. You get these drills and excercises in the very first $20 book on coaching that you buy. The DVD's are full of fluff like 5 minute intro to the player that is going to show you the skills. Summary and moral teachings. While I want to teach my kids things like responsibility and dedication, I'd rather see drills and technique. It does cover group drills (line play) which was a nice feature. Don't get me wrong it has plenty to practice and do, just nothing to me personally that added a lot of value.