PDA

View Full Version : Reality Or Racist TV?

BAMAPHIN 22
08-30-2006, 12:52 PM
he newest edition of CBS' popular television series "Survivor" has an interesting twist — segregation. In the early rounds, there will be four teams or "tribes" competing against each other: the White Tribe, the Hispanic Tribe, the African-American Tribe, and the Asian-American Tribe. There is no truth to the rumor that the winner will go up against the Hooded White Sheeted tribe.

I'm not an expert on this show. I saw an episode or two in the very first season. However, my main reaction was the same as it is to most "reality shows:" where is the reality? I find it hard to worry about someone who is supposedly in danger when I know that just off-camera is an entire film crew, medical personnel, and dozens of doughnuts.

But if I understand it correctly, competitors on "Survivor" have to figure out puzzles and pass various physical challenges. In the case of the newest survivor, the winner gets a million dollars. In the producers' minds, the show must have been getting a bit stale for them to come up with the new race-based version.

The host and producers of the show say that this idea came to them after interviewing many prospective contestants and seeing how important their culture and "ethnic pride" were to them. They also suggest that the show could actually help race relations, because it might dispel some long-held racial stereotypes.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2006/08/30/opinion/garver/main1949281.shtml

Coral Reefer
08-30-2006, 01:00 PM
he newest edition of CBS' popular television series "Survivor" has an interesting twist — segregation. In the early rounds, there will be four teams or "tribes" competing against each other: the White Tribe, the Hispanic Tribe, the African-American Tribe, and the Asian-American Tribe. There is no truth to the rumor that the winner will go up against the Hooded White Sheeted tribe.