PDA

View Full Version : Forward pass rule??



ftpcity
11-27-2006, 04:00 PM
I watched the Raiders vs. Chargers game yesterday and have been puzzled with the ruling where one of the receivers intentionally threw the ball away and the Raiders picked the ball and had possession.

If the ball was thrown away by the receiver after having possession, Isn't it a fumble?

Interestingly, it was ruled as a forward pass. If so, can a receiver when fumbling the ball make it look like a forward pass and getaway with a fumble?

And to add to this, the forward pass was illegal and should have been a 5 yard penalty. But, the Chargers were not assessed the penalty either??

NFL has a million rules, but can someone explain me if the officials screwed up on this one OR if the ruling was correct?

ch19079
11-27-2006, 04:27 PM
the player obviously did not lose control of the ball. he knowingly threw the ball down. hes a ****ing moron, but he did throw the ball forward a few feet.

the ref had to call it an illegal forward pass because it was. they could change the rule to say that if its obvious that the player was not trying to complete a pass that it should be a fumble, but then you allow the refs to make judment calls about what the player was thinking at the time of the pass, and thats just not right.

right now its based on facts. Did the ball travel forward, did the ball get to the line of scrimage, was the QB out of the pocket, or was there a reciever in the area.....

the refs did not screw up that call. it was technically an illegal forward pass. if he threw it backwards (like what that one bucs rookie did a few years back) then that would be a fumble.

BigDogsHunt
11-27-2006, 04:45 PM
Its the proper call under the current interpretation of the rules. They were penalized 5 yards, but kept possession of the ball.

If he would have done this behind him, vs. infront of him, it would have been ruled a fumble.

Rocky Raccoon
11-27-2006, 05:45 PM
Its the proper call under the current interpretation of the rules. They were penalized 5 yards, but kept possession of the ball.

If he would have done this behind him, vs. infront of him, it would have been ruled a fumble.

exactly. People are making a huge deal about it, but based on the rule, it was called correctly.

UltraDol-Fan
11-27-2006, 06:10 PM
eh, I think the Raider's got screwed on that. He obviously wasn't trying to complete a forward pass, should have been a fumble IMO

Amars
11-27-2006, 06:33 PM
right call, stupid play