PDA

View Full Version : speed up firefox 3-30 times faster



King Felix
12-31-2006, 07:50 AM
this is great and it really works, maybe i am late but just thought i'd mention it.

1. Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll
down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time.
When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really
speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests " to some number like 30. This
means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer.
Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0".
This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.


:wink:

d-day
12-31-2006, 11:40 AM
wow - it really does work - thanks for the tip - i can now breeze through all the ladies lounge threads without losing my jerk

Roman529
12-31-2006, 01:12 PM
Damn I didn't even know what a computer was when I was 16....you will be working in a nuclear power plant like Homer Simpson very soon huh?

Brilliant!!! Thanks :wink:

How's your Oregon State Beavers doing?

JSwerdy
01-29-2007, 02:54 PM
this actually slowed me down on firefox, is it possible that these tricks dont work well with the mac version?

JSwerdy
01-29-2007, 03:02 PM
nevermind, i had one of those add ons installed thats supposed to up firefox speed and i think it was conflicting with these settings, i disabled the add on and now its blazing, thanks for the tip

arsenal
01-29-2007, 03:03 PM
wtf, now i wanna get firefox just to use this... booooo@IE

COMEBACKRICKY
01-29-2007, 03:17 PM
thnks man!

CharlestonPhan
01-29-2007, 03:22 PM
C2C thanks for the tip... it def works.

Maynard the Hammer
01-29-2007, 03:54 PM
is there something in here that i can get to disable the yahoo search in my address bar?

i just installed yahoo messenger. i didnt install the yahoo toolbar, but now when i type in an address, it goes to a yahoo search page. if i type in finheaven, it shows results for it. i used to type something like finheaven and it would just go to the page

Maynard the Hammer
01-29-2007, 04:02 PM
alright. i just found the answer to my question and will share if anyone has the same problem or would like to change it:

"If you, like me, has been the victim of Yahoo Spyware aka Yahoo IM then you may notice that in the firefox location bar if you type in a keyword, it takes you to Yahoo preferences page. Previously it used to perform a Google “I’m Lucky” Search and take you to the first page of its search results automatically.

If you want to restore the Google “I’m Lucky” search then perform this simple steps:



1. Type about:config in Firefox location bar and press Enter



2. Type keyword in Filter textbox and you will see only the preference keyword.URL.



3. Double-click on keyword.URL and change the value to:

http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I%27m+Feeling+Lucky&q=


That’s all it takes to restore default keyword search functionality in Google.


Note: You can use this to change to any search engine for keyword search.



link (http://blog.taragana.com/index.php/archive/how-to-change-your-firefox-location-bar-search-engine/)

DrAstroZoom
01-29-2007, 04:11 PM
Sweet to all these suggestions.

HysterikiLL
01-29-2007, 04:33 PM
testing testing

HysterikiLL
01-29-2007, 04:36 PM
holy crap this thing is fast..... c2IR, you rock

arsenal
01-29-2007, 04:40 PM
im sure your doing no favors to the websites you go to with this tweak, but im def joining the firefox revolution when i get home tonight and doing the same ****...

Pennington's Rocket Arm
01-29-2007, 04:42 PM
im sure your doing no favors to the websites you go to with this tweak, but im def joining the firefox revolution when i get home tonight and doing the same ****...
yeah that ultimately could be the downfall of this little trick methinks...

ChrisKo
01-29-2007, 04:52 PM
The same number of requests are made, they are just made simultaneously with pipelining. The end server will still control how many requests to serve and will throttle it's request queue accordingly to the sites configuration.

Some people "might" hit the Microsoft TCP/IP connection limit that was added in a service pack a while back. You might get an error reported or an entry in the eventviewer about connection limits being reached. Nothing bad, just warnign you.

PhenomenalPhin
01-29-2007, 05:25 PM
So is this something you do once a month to keep it fast or just a one time thing?

ChrisKo
01-29-2007, 05:49 PM
So is this something you do once a month to keep it fast or just a one time thing?

One time thing as it's added to your configuration and will be used everytime the browser is launched.

arsenal
01-29-2007, 05:54 PM
The same number of requests are made, they are just made simultaneously with pipelining. The end server will still control how many requests to serve and will throttle it's request queue accordingly to the sites configuration.

Some people "might" hit the Microsoft TCP/IP connection limit that was added in a service pack a while back. You might get an error reported or an entry in the eventviewer about connection limits being reached. Nothing bad, just warnign you.

but doing it simultaneously is the point of overloading the server with the requests... at least how i see it, i dont know much about pipelining with http though...

Roman529
01-29-2007, 05:54 PM
One time thing as it's added to your configuration and will be used everytime the browser is launched.

Is it easy to "un-do" this if it craps up your computer? :lol:

ChrisKo
01-29-2007, 05:59 PM
Is it easy to "un-do" this if it craps up your computer? :lol:

Just reverse the steps posted in the original post and you are undone. :evil:

ChrisKo
01-29-2007, 06:05 PM
but doing it simultaneously is the point of overloading the server with the requests... at least how i see it, i dont know much about pipelining with http though...

Web Servers get simultaneous requests all the time. They have a working request queue that is used to schedule data transmission. Browsers are limited to 2 simultaneous requests to comply with the HTTP 1.1 specs, but pipelining is a bit different in how it works. If you want more information on pipelining you can read here - http://www.mozilla.org/projects/netlib/http/pipelining-faq.html

arsenal
01-29-2007, 07:44 PM
switched and loving it... thanks for the tips

HysterikiLL
01-29-2007, 07:46 PM
yeah i've been using this for a couple of hours and already i've downloaded foxfire for my mom....and this thing makes it super quick...i hope it doesn't crap out.....it's so fast though teehee, okay off to work now "zooooom" :lol:

NJPHIN34
01-29-2007, 09:34 PM
Thanks man!

King Felix
01-30-2007, 01:04 AM
wow i made this thread awhile ago

banzaitrey
01-30-2007, 01:11 AM
Wow...This works really good...Thanks a lot...It makes mine so much faster

Dolfan984
01-30-2007, 03:58 AM
Thanks bro even if it's old news :P

King Felix
04-17-2007, 12:44 AM
bump for those who missed it

Quelonio
04-17-2007, 12:46 AM
does it still work with firefox 2.0?

it does... so do it if you haven't yet

Muck
04-17-2007, 01:01 AM
Wait till you start using 64-bit browsers. ;)

64-bit Firefox (Bon Echo) renders really quick. So does IE-64.

Cool Calm Mike
04-17-2007, 01:02 AM
I don't notice a difference. Thanks though.

King Felix
01-29-2008, 07:03 AM
bump

JT#1
01-29-2008, 11:44 AM
Definitly gonna try this out when i get home

Phin-o-rama
01-29-2008, 11:49 AM
i use the fasterfox plugin....doesn't that do the same thing?

mrbunglez
01-29-2008, 01:11 PM
Theres also a miami dolphins theme for the firefox browser u can go here to get it....
I posted this at Celtkin.com and dunno if you all seen it...

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5537

Jets81
01-29-2008, 05:54 PM
Nice post. I already had a few of them done after seeing a similar post like this, but I didn't have the last couple steps in there. Max request made a noticeable difference. I can't wait to see how this works on my 8 year old laptop.

DonShula84
01-29-2008, 06:22 PM
Thanks for the tip. My browser seems quicker on every site but Finheaven lol.:)

SCall13
01-29-2008, 06:44 PM
Sweet! Thanks!

BigDogsHunt
01-29-2008, 07:01 PM
Money!!!!

brandon27
01-29-2008, 08:27 PM
nice! glad i saw this! i'll definately be using firefox more often now thanks!

Colorado Dolfan
01-29-2008, 08:31 PM
Love me some Firefox...

Some of the add-ons are incredible...

finswin56
01-29-2008, 08:36 PM
Thanks for the tip. My browser seems quicker on every site but Finheaven lol.:)

clear your cache and try it again.

Tpaddle
01-29-2008, 11:41 PM
wow thanks...definitely a little quicker

FinsNYanksFan13
01-30-2008, 02:07 AM
wow - it really does work - thanks for the tip - i can now breeze through all the ladies lounge threads without losing my jerk


I thanked you in this post because reading your post made LMAO. Funny stuff man!

#1 Fan
02-03-2008, 01:10 AM
definitely works. i already had "fasterfox", but with this my browser is noticeably faster.

FinsGirlie
02-03-2008, 04:09 AM
dunno how this thread was found and bumped, but AWESOME! thanks felix

King Felix
02-03-2008, 04:47 AM
dunno how this thread was found and bumped, but AWESOME! thanks felixso, when you sending the pictures? :winkwink:

FinsGirlie
02-03-2008, 03:10 PM
so, when you sending the pictures? :winkwink:

um see, my camera is not as fast as my firefox....so......

no. :foundout: