PDA

View Full Version : Req help w/"unable to save image" & sig



Myles Fynch
01-08-2007, 03:34 AM
Hey guys,

Gotta make this quick... this thing keeps timing out on my & making me re-log in.

#1 - what is the timeout limit? I understand if I were to walk away and not type anything I might get logged out, but even when typing a question or replying to a post? Just curious.

#2 - JPG image is 15kb, 480 by 96. "Unable to save image" is the error I receive. Searched for an answer to this question & read up on it but maybe I'm still doing something wrong. The file is on my C:\ drive and I am trying to put the pic in my sig.

Thanks in advance,

- Myles

King Felix
01-08-2007, 03:36 AM
timing out????????????

Myles Fynch
01-08-2007, 03:40 AM
timing out????????????

Yes. When I try to reply to a post I frequently get an error that I am not logged in. My "Logged in as Myles Fynch" at the top of the screen is wiped out as if I hadn't logged in at all. So I've lost a lot of posts that way. When I log in again what I typed is gone. If I'm reading posts this never happens; if I try to reply to one or post a question I regularly get "logged out" when I hit "Submit Reply."

Thanks for writing back.

- Myles

Celtkin
01-08-2007, 08:09 AM
1. There is no time out limit. I'd check for a virus if I were you.
2. Save your sig to one of the free image hosting services and use the URL to call the sig

Thanks. Let us know if you figure out what was causing the problem.

Myles Fynch
01-08-2007, 11:03 AM
1. There is no time out limit. I'd check for a virus if I were you.
2. Save your sig to one of the free image hosting services and use the URL to call the sig

Thanks. Let us know if you figure out what was causing the problem.

Appreciate that, Celtkin. I will try some things on this end and if I discover anything useful I will share it.

- Myles

Celtkin
01-08-2007, 11:15 AM
Appreciate that, Celtkin. I will try some things on this end and if I discover anything useful I will share it.

- Myles

Thanks, buddy !

Myles Fynch
01-08-2007, 01:19 PM
Thanks, buddy !


Here's an update: Spybot, Ad-Aware, AVG and Avast said my system was cool. I will continue to monitor this "timing out" problem I'm having.

The note where you would upload an image for your signature appears incorrect: "Note: The maximum size of your custom image is 500 by 100 pixels or 39.1 KB (whichever is smaller)."

When I try to upload an image for my signature, the answer is "unable to save image." When I try to "insert image" with the icon under "edit signature" it tells me that the file was too large--the limit is now listed as 400 by 300, not 500 by 100. :confused: I resized the image to 400 by 100 and it was accepted. This was by using a free image hosting service as you suggested.

Still confused why I was able to upload an avatar from my C: drive but not a signature picture using the same method. Any ideas on that one?

Thanks for your help. I may be back to pester some more if the "timing out" problem continues.

Now let's get a coach!

like2god
01-08-2007, 01:52 PM
I had this problem a few months ago, I kept getting the "you're not logged in" message and the "your IP address has been banned by admin" message. I contacted Mindwarp and he checked things out and we found out the problem was on my end.

I used Spybot, AdAware, Webroot Windows washer, and I went to McAfee.com and Microsoft.com and downloaded updates and free trials for antivirus and spyware programs. It's definitely frustrating but you really need to make sure that your computer is clean. Maybe even try a System Restore if those programs don't work. I just hope for your sake that you don't have the same trojan that I had about a month ago, it attacked my system restore and my computer wasn't responding to simple commands and I had a really hard time fixing it.

Best of luck bro.

.

Myles Fynch
01-08-2007, 02:32 PM
I had this problem a few months ago, I kept getting the "you're not logged in" message and the "your IP address has been banned by admin" message. I contacted Mindwarp and he checked things out and we found out the problem was on my end.

Best of luck bro.

.

Thanks, man. I lost my first reply to you even though the previous programs said my system was fine. I've been trying to remember to copy & paste my replies into Notepad so I still have them if I have to re-log in, which is most of the time. So I still have some detective work to do...

Thanks for the info.

- Myles