PDA

View Full Version : 1080p



Sethdaddy8
01-30-2007, 08:41 PM
I'm just curious if anyone has played PS3 in 1080P mode? Or for that matter,has anyone seen a HDDVD or Blue Ray movie in true 1080P? How much are these 1080p TVs going for ?
I have a nice newer flat panel Sony with 720p and 1080i...and the debate rages which is better...I use the 1080 interlaced, because that is what DirecTv supports, although they say to watch sports in 720 progressive and certain video games prefer 720P as well. I'm dying to see what 1080P looks like though.

FinsNCanes
01-30-2007, 11:04 PM
Go to the local best buy.

I didn't notice a difference imo.

I'm not sure how much clearer they expect it to look..

Phin-o-rama
01-31-2007, 09:23 AM
i have a 1080p lcd and play 360 games in 1080p.....hd dvd's are amazing but i have'nt tried them in 720p....

i use the vga port so everything gets upscaled as high as possible.

mor911
01-31-2007, 09:26 AM
The BLu-Ray player at bestbuy looked nothing short of amazing. Worth $3500+ (cost of a Blu-Ray player and a 1080p TV), probably not. But it still looked great to me.

What I'm interested in is seeing a Blu-Ray player in 1080i next to one in 1080p.

Sethdaddy8
01-31-2007, 10:51 PM
i have a 1080p lcd and play 360 games in 1080p.....hd dvd's are amazing but i have'nt tried them in 720p....

i use the vga port so everything gets upscaled as high as possible.

yea the PS3 defaults to 480P on most dics. its a shame theres no in-between...either 480p or 1080p and thats it(for blu-ray discs thus far). thanks for the input.

Sethdaddy8
01-31-2007, 10:54 PM
The BLu-Ray player at bestbuy looked nothing short of amazing. Worth $3500+ (cost of a Blu-Ray player and a 1080p TV), probably not. But it still looked great to me.

What I'm interested in is seeing a Blu-Ray player in 1080i next to one in 1080p.

how big of a tv are we talking? i know blu-ray players are close to a grand. hence the hidden value in PS3s (or so I have read)

i was afraid 1080p TVs are a fortune still.

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 12:52 AM
i have the westinghouse 37w3 and got it for 999.....can be bought online for under 1k...its a monitor though (no tv tuner)

i love it

Desides
02-01-2007, 12:54 AM
i have a 1080p lcd and play 360 games in 1080p.....

No, you don't. There isn't a single Xbox360 game that supports 1080p. 360 games support 720p at a minimum, and 1080i optionally.

Fresh
02-01-2007, 01:16 AM
1080i & 1080p really doesn't have a difference.

It's just another promotional scam to make more money.

Deus Ex Dolphin
02-01-2007, 01:20 AM
The 360 has a built in scaler chip, so it does support 1080P, though almost every game is designed to support 720P.

The PS3 games are also in 720P, despite what Sony promised. Really, the leap from 480P to 720P is greater than that of 720P to 1080I/P. Much depends on your HDTV of course.

Once you have a HDTV, you just can't go back to a regular TV, as it looks blurry.

Fresh
02-01-2007, 01:22 AM
^exactly.......

My NBA 2k7 looks beautiful in 1080i (PS3)

But you guys watch out for the games as all of them don't support it. Call Of Duty 3 doesn't even reach 1080i. The back cover is a misprint (confirmed).

Basically, if you have a good enough HDTV, tuner, & HDMI cable, then you're good.

I suggest the Samsung 40" LCD/HDTV. :D

http://samsung.com/Products/TV/LCDTV/LNS4051DXXAA.asp

It's a beauty in person. I suggest it to anyone - 23, 26, 32, 40, any size!

TheMageGandalf
02-01-2007, 01:31 AM
1080i & 1080p really doesn't have a difference.

It's just another promotional scam to make more money.


You mean there's actually a difference?

Even my wife who's got the eagle eyes for this kind of stuff looked at two HDTV's at CC the other night one running 1080i and another 1080p and she didn't notice a damn thing.

I didn't notice anything at first thats why I brought her in the store to make sure I wasn't just blind.:goof:

Marino2Clayton
02-01-2007, 01:49 AM
http://cnn-cnet.com.com/4520-6449_7-6661274-1.html


Reviewers like Katzmaier, who look at dozens of TVs over the course of the year, can see some very minor differences in picture sharpness when you step up to 1080p. How 1080i vs. 1080p plays out with video games--three PS3 launch titles offer native 1080p support--is less clear, but in the little time I've spent with the PS3, the differences seem very subtle and are ultimately tied into how good graphically the game looks to begin with. For instance, I saw Activision's Marvel: Ultimate Alliance on a 1080p Sony display, and the game looked decent, but it's not graphically stunning to begin with, so it wasn't completely amazing. By comparison, Resistance: Fall of Man looked great--even though the resolution is "only" 720p native, the PS3 exclusive makes far better use of the system's graphical horsepower than the Marvel game, which was simultaneously developed for all home consoles.

Ultimately, we agree with the Imaging Science Foundation (ISF), a group that consults for home-theater manufacturers and trains professional video calibrators, when it says that the most important aspect of picture quality is contrast ratio, the second-most important is color saturation, and the third is color accuracy. Though resolution may be the most talked-about spec these days, it comes in fourth on the ISF list, and after you sit watching five TVs lined up side by side, you understand why. The fact is a relatively pristine high-def source such as Mission: Impossible III looks sharp on just about any HDTV, and your eye, when looking for differences, is drawn first to things like depth of detail in shadowy material (black levels) and the color of the actors' skin tone and how natural it looks.

So when buying a TV, the last thing you probably want to do is agonize over its native resolution. If you don't mind spending the extra dough for 1080p, go for it. But if it's stretching your budget, then take a pass, knowing it's not all that it's cracked up to be.

Fresh
02-01-2007, 02:08 AM
You mean there's actually a difference?

Even my wife who's got the eagle eyes for this kind of stuff looked at two HDTV's at CC the other night one running 1080i and another 1080p and she didn't notice a damn thing.

I didn't notice anything at first thats why I brought her in the store to make sure I wasn't just blind.:goof:

Nope, not a real difference at all.

If you have all of the necessary cables, tuners, and whatnot, you'll have just as good quality with 1080i. I have mine hooked up via the Comcast box, and the HD is picture perfect.

& at the post above mine, YES.......contrast ratio > _________.

Make sure to spend the extra hundred bucks or so for 4000:1

There's a significant difference between 3000:1 & 4000:1. Before I got the 40" Samsung, I had a Samsung 23" LCD/HDTV that was 3000:1 (it broke btw!, and I was stuck using a temp TV until I made up my mind).....WHAT A DIFFERENCE the 4000:1 contrast ratio makes in picture! I mean, aside from the 17-inch difference and the integrated tuner, it's the exact same Samsung model. The contrast ratio just makes a HUGE difference.

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 09:48 AM
No, you don't. There isn't a single Xbox360 game that supports 1080p. 360 games support 720p at a minimum, and 1080i optionally.




everything is upscaled to 1080p, except standard definition dvd's which go up to 720p :wink:


360 supports 1080p, and some of the games on the horizon will be made 1080p native....not that it makes much of a difference...at all....

Desides
02-01-2007, 11:30 AM
360 supports 1080p, and some of the games on the horizon will be made 1080p native....not that it makes much of a difference...at all....

The 360 only supports 1080p output for HD-DVD movies via the drive add-on. It doesn't support 1080p for games, nor do any games support 1080p (both must occur for you to play a game in 1080p), nor is Microsoft allowing game companies to support 1080p (right now, anyway.)

mor911
02-01-2007, 11:34 AM
Someone please post a link to confirm something!!! :lol:

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 11:46 AM
this is old news...vga since its a computer connection can put hd-dvd movies up to 1080p as well as games.....component can output up to 1080i for hd-dvd and 1080p for games...hdmi has the built in 'copyright protection' that they are shooting for and its leg up over component is that it can do 1080p with movies, even though component is quite capable of 1080p.



http://kotaku.com/gaming/xbox-360/shane-kim-talks-360-1080p-game-output-201816.php


More importantly, they announced that the fall software update for the console will allow the console to output game and movie content in 1080p resolution. That's right I said movies and games.

The interview was exactly 10 minutes long, so naturally I spent nine minutes trying to figure out just how a console with no HDMI out would gain 1080p output with a software update.

Kim was clear that the console could support true 1080p out.

"If it is running at 720p we will up-res it to 1080p, if it it's already 1080p then we can display it in 1080p," he said. " This is a great example of our console's ability and the great advantage of being a software company."

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 11:47 AM
oh and keep in mind 1080p is just a resolution....computers have been outputting it for years...and even better resolutions than that

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 01:36 PM
http://www.finheaven.com/clear.gif (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Interlacingani2.gif)

it has to do with lines of resolution. I'm not sure what TVs use interpolation or not, but I think 1080P is clearly superior to 1080I at this point.

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 01:38 PM
The 360 only supports 1080p output for HD-DVD movies via the drive add-on. It doesn't support 1080p for games, nor do any games support 1080p (both must occur for you to play a game in 1080p), nor is Microsoft allowing game companies to support 1080p (right now, anyway.)


is that available yet ?

FinsNCanes
02-01-2007, 01:40 PM
I thought the 360 add on was only used to upscale movies and not games? Oh noes! I'm confused :boohoo:

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 02:01 PM
is that available yet ?



yes and no....the hd-dvd drive will upscale movies to only as high as 1080i over component (due to copyright issues).....the 360 itself w/o the add on will upscale games to 1080p over component (they added this in the fall 06 update and you can select 1080p in the system settings)


vga, since it is technically a computer style hookup has zero limitations on its resolultions....it upscales games to 1080p, hd-dvd's to 1080p and standard dvds to 720p (component upscales stand dvds to 480p). my westy's vga port will display 1080p....some other tv's do not...

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 02:03 PM
I thought the 360 add on was only used to upscale movies and not games? Oh noes! I'm confused :boohoo:



the add on is only for hd-dvd's.....if you want to upscale your regular dvd's to 720p then run a vga....otherwise over component, it upscales regular dvd's to 480p (instead of 480i).....


the addon has nothing to do with games at this point and probably never will (according to M$ reps)

Desides
02-01-2007, 02:40 PM
is that available yet ?

Yes, the HD-DVD drive add-on has been available for a couple of months now. Be warned, it's expensive. (http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=802558)

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 02:46 PM
i got mine for 159.99 w/ king kong and the media remote....so basically 110 for the drive.


circuit city had a coupon for 40 dollars off a purchase of 199 or more.....

Desides
02-01-2007, 02:57 PM
i got mine for 159.99 w/ king kong and the media remote....so basically 110 for the drive.


circuit city had a coupon for 40 dollars off a purchase of 199 or more.....

Congratulations. But not everyone is going to be able to get that kind of a deal on the thing, so its MSRP is kind of relevant.

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 03:41 PM
whats odd is, a lot of these blu ray and hd-dvds arent in anything other than 1080p, with no in between, so they default to 480 p anyway

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 03:44 PM
nah your display would display it at 720p or 1080i w/e its native res is

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 03:45 PM
Congratulations. But not everyone is going to be able to get that kind of a deal on the thing, so its MSRP is kind of relevant.



even then its still a deal...30 dollar remote, 20-30 dollar hd-dvd....for 199

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 03:50 PM
i got superman returns on blue ray, it looked no different than a pro-scan dvd. the disc said it played in 1080p or defaults to 480p. My PS3 makes u choose the resolution for all media formats that best suit the media. Because my tv doesnt have 1080p, i dont think it plays in 720p or 1080i. let me know if you think im doing something wrong

Desides
02-01-2007, 04:50 PM
i got superman returns on blue ray, it looked no different than a pro-scan dvd. the disc said it played in 1080p or defaults to 480p. My PS3 makes u choose the resolution for all media formats that best suit the media. Because my tv doesnt have 1080p, i dont think it plays in 720p or 1080i. let me know if you think im doing something wrong

If your TV doesn't do 1080p, then there's no way you can watch the Blu-Ray disc in 1080p either. Set the PS3's output to the same resolution as your TV--Google its model number to find out which resolution it supports. Though, if it's below 42'', odds are it does 720p only. Which is fine: 720p looks better than 1080i to begin with.

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 05:16 PM
its 42" and has both 720p and 1080i. i had set the ps3 to play in both modes, but the disc quality was typical 480P. does it have to do with the disc itself...some discs maybe play in 720p, while this superman stated its only 1080p or 480p, and thats it?

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 05:20 PM
ps3 doesn't support 1080i i don't think...set the ps3 to output 720p

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 05:25 PM
ps3 doesn't support 1080i i don't think...set the ps3 to output 720p

i think they do, but ill give it a shot. thanks for the tip.

Phin-o-rama
02-01-2007, 06:08 PM
if they do then that was a patch...cuz it didn't in the beginning

mor911
02-01-2007, 06:12 PM
I do remember reading some PS3 firmware patch... gotta go read back.

Sethdaddy8
02-01-2007, 06:14 PM
all i know is, when i first opearted the PS3, it started a system download with a warning, "do not turn off your console, or you may not be able to turn the system on again". i was like are you f'ing kidding me?

Desides
02-01-2007, 06:53 PM
ps3 doesn't support 1080i i don't think...set the ps3 to output 720p

PS3 supports 1080i. It just doesn't support upscaling content to 1080i. Yet. The scaler chip is there, it just isn't being used. Read this (http://arstechnica.com/journals/thumbs.ars/2007/1/28/6783) for more information.


I do remember reading some PS3 firmware patch... gotta go read back.

Sony just released PS3 firmware 1.5. It includes a bunch of little fixes, but its main feature is that it properly displays PS1/PS2 games. Meaning, they don't look artificially ugly anymore.


its 42" and has both 720p and 1080i. i had set the ps3 to play in both modes, but the disc quality was typical 480P. does it have to do with the disc itself...some discs maybe play in 720p, while this superman stated its only 1080p or 480p, and thats it?

If it's got 720p and 1080i, you should be set. Just make sure the disc supports 1080i, otherwise the PS3 will by default kick you down to 480p. (Long story.) If worse comes to worst, just set your output at 720p.


all i know is, when i first opearted the PS3, it started a system download with a warning, "do not turn off your console, or you may not be able to turn the system on again". i was like are you f'ing kidding me?

By that, they mean use standby mode (ala the PS2), instead of flicking the I/O switch on the back off and on. A lot of PS2s were damaged that way, and Sony would like to avoid the bad PR. (Yeah, Sony gets bad PR--who knew?)

Sethdaddy8
02-02-2007, 02:32 AM
PS3 supports 1080i. It just doesn't support upscaling content to 1080i. Yet. The scaler chip is there, it just isn't being used. Read this (http://arstechnica.com/journals/thumbs.ars/2007/1/28/6783) for more information.



Sony just released PS3 firmware 1.5. It includes a bunch of little fixes, but its main feature is that it properly displays PS1/PS2 games. Meaning, they don't look artificially ugly anymore.



If it's got 720p and 1080i, you should be set. Just make sure the disc supports 1080i, otherwise the PS3 will by default kick you down to 480p. (Long story.) If worse comes to worst, just set your output at 720p.



By that, they mean use standby mode (ala the PS2), instead of flicking the I/O switch on the back off and on. A lot of PS2s were damaged that way, and Sony would like to avoid the bad PR. (Yeah, Sony gets bad PR--who knew?)


Thanks a lot for the tips dude. I set my system at 1080i, watched a few discs and they were amazing quality. coincidentally, one was Crank, really fun movie!