PDA

View Full Version : Touchdown?!



dolfan_uk
07-22-2007, 08:59 PM
I was watching the news on uk tv the other day and the presenter was talking how in rugby the guy scored a touchdown, and i spotted the mistake she said, as the saying is they call it a TRY. but i was wondering if anyone here knew how they come up with that in Gridiron? Touchdown, but yet, you dont have to touch the ball down?? like they do in rugby. touch ball to floor for it to count.

was this an old rule that got changed?? mmm. :unsure:

not goona loose sleep over it or anything!:lol: but if anyone knows.......

Rhyno
07-22-2007, 09:10 PM
Ya you originally had to touch the ball down to score. Then in 1889 the rules changed to just possessing the ball beyond the goal line.

go_fins22
07-22-2007, 11:42 PM
Ya you originally had to touch the ball down to score. Then in 1889 the rules changed to just possessing the ball beyond the goal line.

I didn't know that.

dolfan_uk
07-23-2007, 08:14 PM
sweet. thought so.

ta...