PDA

View Full Version : Gta IV ps3 freezing problems??? Help!



JuanchoColombia
05-04-2008, 08:20 PM
I wanted to know if anyone has experienced this??? I've read a lot of cases in different boards but i don't know how common is it, some of the might be made up or the same people being very vocal about it....


the problem appears to be in major part in the 60gb's... I have a 60gb and ordered mine already but it won't be here till the 16th, so I'm kinda worried it won't work ot even worse, brick my system.


So... have you?

Dolfan32323
05-04-2008, 08:21 PM
I've been reading online that a lot of people are having freezing issues on both consoles. Fortunately, I haven't had any but it probably is not your console.

CitizenSnips
05-04-2008, 08:37 PM
I've been reading online that a lot of people are having freezing issues on both consoles. Fortunately, I haven't had any but it probably is not your console.
I havent heard anything about it freezing on the 360.

JuanchoColombia
05-04-2008, 08:49 PM
I havent heard anything about it freezing on the 360.


yeah, I've read plenty of them too.... they don't appear to be as frequent as in the PS3s tho...

Greatness920
05-04-2008, 11:53 PM
ive heard about both and i have a 60 and only froze once but came back in like 7 seconds but i had a problem with loading i nthe beginning i had to disable the interent and it worked fine so its a fixable problem no need to cancel any orders :D woo

Sean
05-05-2008, 12:15 AM
I just rented it, how is the online play? (didn't play it was to preocupied killing people with Militoff Cocktails and running them over with Roman's cab , which is a hunk of crap.)

Greatness920
05-05-2008, 12:52 AM
molotov*** haha jus messin

Phin-o-rama
05-05-2008, 08:47 AM
mine froze a few times on my ps3 60gb.....i took the game back, traded it in for 40 bucks and rebought it for 60 on the 360

ballin son

Tetragrammaton
05-05-2008, 10:44 AM
Log off of PSN and it should work. For some reason, that has caused the freezing for most people.

Dolphins9954
05-05-2008, 12:21 PM
I wanted to know if anyone has experienced this??? I've read a lot of cases in different boards but i don't know how common is it, some of the might be made up or the same people being very vocal about it....


the problem appears to be in major part in the 60gb's... I have a 60gb and ordered mine already but it won't be here till the 16th, so I'm kinda worried it won't work ot even worse, brick my system.


So... have you?


Freezing issue:

Try deleting your save game/user data for GTA
Try disconnecting from PSN
Or buy a 360 and GTA 4.http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums/show_msgs.php?topic_id=26366923

muscle979
05-05-2008, 06:58 PM
mine froze a few times on my ps3 60gb.....i took the game back, traded it in for 40 bucks and rebought it for 60 on the 360

ballin son

Instead of losing money all you had to do was log off PSN when you played until they put out a patch to fix it. It works fine when you're not logged into PSN.

Arsenal WV
05-05-2008, 08:36 PM
Mine froze.... It kept playing the radio while I was in my car, but it was still frozen.. I have a 360

Greatness920
05-05-2008, 09:53 PM
i delete my game once and then realized all i had to do was disconnect my internet oh goodness: ( get to enjoy gta that much longer woo!

Phin-o-rama
05-06-2008, 05:32 PM
Instead of losing money all you had to do was log off PSN when you played until they put out a patch to fix it. It works fine when you're not logged into PSN.



i was already disapointed in myself for not waiting for a 360 copy and settling for the ps3 version....so throw in the freezing issue, and i couldn't take it.

i want the exclusive content brotato

JuanchoColombia
05-07-2008, 12:00 AM
thx for the help, I'm gonna try playing the game with the ethernet unplugged, at least for the install and then try loggin into psn and see if it freezes, i'll let you know the 16th so we can take a few matches :D


for the ones that suggested getting a 360, I'm not gonna spend 500 bucks for a single game... :rolleyes2:

CitizenSnips
05-07-2008, 12:15 AM
thx for the help, I'm gonna try playing the game with the ethernet unplugged, at least for the install and then try loggin into psn and see if it freezes, i'll let you know the 16th so we can take a few matches :D


for the ones that suggested getting a 360, I'm not gonna spend 500 bucks for a single game... :rolleyes2:


You spent that much on a Blu Ray player that also plays GTA IV. *drums and symbol*


KIDDING *ducks*

JuanchoColombia
05-07-2008, 01:13 AM
You spent that much on a Blu Ray player that also plays GTA IV. *drums and symbol*


KIDDING *ducks*


Yeah, that's why I don't want to spend another 500 on an a machine that plays GTA IV and HD-Dv... oh wait....


/thread.... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vubU2ki2Z8Y)




I kid, I kid

CitizenSnips
05-07-2008, 11:45 AM
Yeah, that's why I don't want to spend another 500 on an a machine that plays GTA IV and HD-Dv... oh wait....


/thread.... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vubU2ki2Z8Y)




I kid, I kid
:lol:

thank god someone with a sense of humor responded

SarahAnn
05-08-2008, 08:07 AM
I should point out that all these problems are engine related and the only reason the 360 isn't experiencing them to a greater extent is because the fixed them in Bully and knew what to expect on the 360 platform. I've not experienced any trouble on ps3 and have over 90 hours logged between me and fiance.

muscle979
05-09-2008, 12:52 AM
I should point out that all these problems are engine related and the only reason the 360 isn't experiencing them to a greater extent is because the fixed them in Bully and knew what to expect on the 360 platform. I've not experienced any trouble on ps3 and have over 90 hours logged between me and fiance.

SHHH, don't tell anyone. And don't tell them that the patch was already released fixing everything barely a week after launch. :up:

BARF
05-09-2008, 01:35 AM
hey muscle how do i get the patch

SarahAnn
05-09-2008, 06:07 AM
Patch didn't fix much, just some minor disconnecting issues.

dabeastdabone
05-09-2008, 09:21 PM
I haven't had it freeze on my PS3, but I'm only about 20% in.

Greatness920
05-10-2008, 02:32 AM
hey muscle how do i get the patch

when u load the cd gta iv it will tell u an update is needed to play the game and it will download it right there

muscle979
05-10-2008, 12:11 PM
hey muscle how do i get the patch

You have to be connected to the internet. When you go to start the game it should automatically download it.

muscle979
05-10-2008, 12:12 PM
Patch didn't fix much, just some minor disconnecting issues.

If by didn't fix much you meant fixed everything then yes I agree. The game would freeze religiously during the intial load if I was signed on to PSN before. Now it works 100% of the time. Sounds like a fix to me.

Greatness920
05-10-2008, 05:57 PM
If by didn't fix much you meant fixed everything then yes I agree. The game would freeze religiously during the intial load if I was signed on to PSN before. Now it works 100% of the time. Sounds like a fix to me.

oh right!!! woo haha:dj2:

BARF
05-10-2008, 06:00 PM
since i signed off of psn network the freezing problems have stopped

muscle979
05-11-2008, 12:31 AM
since i signed off of psn network the freezing problems have stopped

Download the patch. It should fix everything. You can play logged onto PSN again.

BARF
05-11-2008, 09:16 AM
it download the patch at the beginning and i still had problems with the freezing any other ideas

muscle979
05-12-2008, 09:25 AM
it download the patch at the beginning and i still had problems with the freezing any other ideas

Complain to Sony and Rockstar I guess. The patch fixed everything for me, sorry that's all I got.