PDA

View Full Version : Nnamdi Asomugha can be tagged again? Chris Gamble?



DolphinFan87
01-11-2009, 02:25 AM
I keep searching 2009 free agents and Asomugha. From what I am reading, the raiders plan on franchising him again. I thought you can only use the franchise tag only once on a player, especially twice in a year. I thought the NFL rules were, you can't franchise a player two years in a row. Am I completely wrong, it seems like it.

Here are some sources:

*Well fin heaven is gay and wont let me put up any links. But the links came from NFL DOT com and yahoo DOT com*


From the NFL DOT Comsource, it says this:
Nnamdi Asomugha - Raiders cornerback - Oakland plans to franchise him again if he remains unsigned, which is a distinct possibility.

And yes, I did read the dates just to make sure it wasn't last year's free agency.


Also to note, Baltimore is kind of screwed. All 3 LB's are FA's. Bart Scott, Ray Lewis, and Terrell Suggs. Also DB Dawan Landry.


Another question, Did the panthers extend the contract of Chris Gamble? If not, Julius Peppers will be a FA. And did Philly extend Brian Dawkins or will he also become a FA?


Thanks again.

Vertical Limit
01-12-2009, 02:34 AM
It's a shame that Asomugha is likely going to be tagged. If you seen his interviews, this is a guy who really wants to win and is embarrassed to play for that team. He's the type of player that fits well with what we're doing.

DolphinFan87
01-12-2009, 01:37 PM
But I thought you can't tag a player twice? Especially two years in a row.

If they can, they should make that a rule.