PDA

View Full Version : Isiah Thomas to coach FIU basketball?

Dolfan3773
04-13-2009, 07:47 PM
wow...

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=4065658

CedarPhin
04-13-2009, 07:54 PM
Not a bad hire for them really. Maybe he's a better college than pro coach.

biggiesmalls3k1
04-13-2009, 09:29 PM
Wow, how the mighty have fallen...from an NBA coach of THE KNICKS...to coaching in the Sun-Belt Conference for the Golden Panthers lol...seriously though i dont think its a bad hire, if i remember correctly he did decent at Indiana...good luck to him. Im a student at FIU, itd be great to run into him on campus...at least for a quick laugh lol...

CedarPhin
04-13-2009, 09:40 PM
He wasn't bad with the Pacers....Bird had differences with him and fired him. He was a disaster in NY though.

biggiesmalls3k1
04-13-2009, 09:44 PM
lol i wasnt referring to the pacers, i totally forgot about that...now that i remember he did a pretty good job with them, took them to the playoffs a few times with a healthy j.o. i thought he coached at IU but maybe my memory is a little fuzzy?

GoonBoss
04-13-2009, 11:16 PM
Just 'casue you can't cut it at the pro level doesn't make you a bad hire at the college level. Completely different animal.

biggiesmalls3k1
04-13-2009, 11:27 PM
oh i totally understand that, id guess he'd be a great recruiting tool, who wouldnt wanna play for the guy who destroyed the knicks lmao jk...he can be a great college coach...

CedarPhin
04-14-2009, 01:07 AM
lol i wasnt referring to the pacers, i totally forgot about that...now that i remember he did a pretty good job with them, took them to the playoffs a few times with a healthy j.o. i thought he coached at IU but maybe my memory is a little fuzzy?

Never coached at IU.

Went to the Pacers, had a falling out with Bird (apparently beef spilt over from their playing days), then went to the Bricks and made some horrific personnel decisions.