PDA

View Full Version : CPU Help!



GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 02:41 PM
Hey guys...My home CPU has gone wonkey. I needs ome help.

I fire it up, and, it will go until it hits the "We are sorry for the inconvienience, but Windows has failed to start properly blah blah"

No matter if you chose to start it normally, or safe mode, it will just go through the process again and, end back at the same page, like a continous loop.

Anything I can do? I'd hate to have to do a complete re-set and lose all my porn....errrr....Important files. Is there anything I can do?

poornate
07-10-2009, 02:42 PM
Are you getting the BSOD?

GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 02:50 PM
Are you getting the BSOD?

I have no idea what that is. the screen that it always pops to is a dos looking screen that gives the option of starting in regular mode, safe mode, safe mode with networking. It has a little countdown deal, and no matter what mode you start in, or let it count down, it will go through a little bit...The "Gateway" screen will pop up then, it will go back to the dos looking screen.

GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 02:52 PM
Ok..found out what the BSOD is. It sort of looks like that, but not identical. It's not an actual blue screen.

poornate
07-10-2009, 03:33 PM
It could be a host of things then... if you get a series of binary numbers like 0000x0024 write them down and then you can look them up somewhere like PCSTATS... at worst, if you ahve your windows disk you can do a repair re boot.... run windows off of the disk and then transfer your files to an external drive... I have heard of a lot of people recently having a similar sounding problem when they upgrade to IE 8.... It seems that it runs the update sometimes without end... so the next time you turn your PC off it is in the middle of reconfiguring your OS and corrupts the whole shebang.... sound familiar?

GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 03:59 PM
It could be a host of things then... if you get a series of binary numbers like 0000x0024 write them down and then you can look them up somewhere like PCSTATS... at worst, if you ahve your windows disk you can do a repair re boot.... run windows off of the disk and then transfer your files to an external drive... I have heard of a lot of people recently having a similar sounding problem when they upgrade to IE 8.... It seems that it runs the update sometimes without end... so the next time you turn your PC off it is in the middle of reconfiguring your OS and corrupts the whole shebang.... sound familiar?

Well, I don't think that we have upgraded the browser. though it may have been the wife. I use Firefox. I have an external drive, so, running off the windows disks is probably what we are going to have to do. Thanks.

Vaark
07-10-2009, 04:28 PM
At the least you could do a system "restore" to some date last week or month as an fast and easy fix attempt.(in the safe mode)

GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 04:34 PM
At the least you could do a system "restore" to some date last week or month as an fast and easy fix attempt.(in the safe mode)

I think I screwed it up and it's restoreing to factory settings. Ah well.

Tetragrammaton
07-10-2009, 06:18 PM
This is why you keep your porn on an external hard drive. Mine is 500 gigabytes.

GoonBoss
07-10-2009, 06:27 PM
This is why you keep your porn on an external hard drive. Mine is 500 gigabytes.

Oh don't you worry. My porn is very safe. My external is only 70gigs, but it's plenty. I religiously back up my porn collection.