PDA

View Full Version : Regarding Pat White and unacceptable comments

kkinkead
01-04-2010, 06:01 AM
Let me preface this by saying that, yes, I am a West Virginia fan. I graduated in 2007, so I watched Pat White during his first few seasons. I was there in person for his first game, and I was there for his last game.

Let's put all discussion about his NFL capabilities aside for a second. The kid seriously injured himself and I've read some of the most vile comments on this board, and other boards all over the web.

I read things like "I hope he stays down", and "well at least the Pat White experiment is over", and it makes me want to puke. How can you say that about ANYONE? College ties or not, Pat White is a human being and I never want to see anyone get themselves hurt playing football.

Pat is a humble kid and has only done what he's been asked to do by the coaching staff. Was he drafted too high? Probably. What is he supposed to do about that? He shows up every day, works hard, and follows instructions from the coaching staff. That's all he's in a position to do. Yes, he needs to adjust to the speed of the NFL. Yes, he's probably undersized. Yes, he's got a lot to learn. Yes, he should probably move to a WR/slash position.

Pat was obviously going for a first down, got tripped up, and took an awkward hit. I wonder how many other people on your team would have gone for that first down. Would Ted Ginn have done that? Would Chad Henne have run out of bounds? Who knows. Pat is trying to move the chains for his team, and got hurt in the process.

Some of you people make me wonder where the hell we are going as a society. Digusting, vile, wretched comments all around.