PDA

View Full Version : I spoke to 2 scouts from the texans yesterday

Danny
01-21-2010, 09:15 PM
I'm a manager at TGIFriday's in Orlando and there're a lot of scouts here right now for the east-west game in Orlando.I asked them if they think Maclain from Alabama would be a good fit for us.Their response was this" how do you know they'd take him"? and "he may not even be there"......I asked them who's the best player coming out and they both said at the same time Suh(SP) the big DT.....I told them we'd not take him cause he's a DT and not a NT and they said we'd just switch to a 4-3 defence.Not that it matters cause he'll be long gone before we pick.They don't give you much info but when I mention the kid from Bama they both had this weird look in their faces.....I told them that maybe they wanted him and they got quiet......just wanted to pass it along.

Ozzy rules!!

Thumper1016
01-21-2010, 10:26 PM
Thanks for sharing. Have you had any other teams scouts come in?

NAPPS
01-21-2010, 10:29 PM
Hey I work at millenia fridays which one do you work at?

j-off-her-doll
01-21-2010, 10:42 PM
We would most certainly not switch to a 4-3 to accommodate Suh. Our deepest position on D is DE - all very specifically 3-4 DE's, and we just hired Mike Nolan (one of the top 3 DC's at running a 3-4). If they were being earnest, they're idiots.

Not like it matters: we won't be in a position to draft him.

As for McClain, I'm inclined to pass on him in the 1st - as I've said a million times - assuming he's there (he might not be). I think Spikes and Witherspoon are comparable if not better, and one of them will be there when we draft in RD 2. The only caveat: we like to draft in pairs. So, there's a small chance we take two ILB's in the first two rounds. But, I don't see that happening this year.

ckparrothead
01-21-2010, 11:21 PM
Scouts get weird period when you ask them stuff like that unless A) they know you, or B) you manage to convince them you know what you're talking about.