PDA

View Full Version : How the jests and pats can clinch sunday. Ugh!



DirkDiggler
12-08-2010, 02:30 PM
The NFL has released the official playoff scenarios for teams that can clinch this week. That includes the New England Patriots (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ne/new-england-patriots) and New York Jets (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyj/new-york-jets).

Patriots can clinch if:

They beat or tie the Chicago Bears (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/chi/chicago-bears).
The Miami Dolphins (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/mia/miami-dolphins) lose or tie (versus Jets) plus the Jacksonville Jaguars (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/jac/jacksonville-jaguars) lose or tie (versus Oakland Raiders (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/oak/oakland-raiders)).
The Dolphins lose or tie plus the Indianapolis Colts (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ind/indianapolis-colts) lose or tie (versus Tennessee Titans (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ten/tennessee-titans)).
There are additional scenarios for the Patriots to clinch if they secure the strength of victory tiebreaker over certain teams this week.


Jets can clinch if:

They beat the Dolphins plus the San Diego Chargers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/sd/san-diego-chargers) lose or tie (Kansas City Chiefs (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/kc/kansas-city-chiefs)) plus the Jaguars lose or tie (versus the Raiders).
They beat the Dolphins plus the San Diego Chargers lose or tie (Kansas City Chiefs) plus the Colts lose or tie (versus the Titans).
They beat the Dolphins plus the Raiders lose or tie (versus the Jaguars) plus both the Chargers and Colts lose.

Gamezover
12-08-2010, 02:53 PM
Given the Conference record of both the Jets and the Pats, the only way the Dolphins can make the playoffs over these two teams is if one or both lose out. Also, the Steelers and Ravens hold the head-to-head tie breaker over the fins, so either the Steelers have to lose out or the Ravens could only win one more game all year. Oh yeah, and the Dolphins would also need to win out... in a nutshell we are done.

Lets just hope we can beat the Jets this week....

TPD1479
12-08-2010, 03:09 PM
we ain't making the playoffs so hopefully team is treating this game against the hated jets as their "super bowl"....

Fins1971
12-08-2010, 03:18 PM
The NFL has released the official playoff scenarios for teams that can clinch this week. That includes the New England Patriots (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ne/new-england-patriots) and New York Jets (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyj/new-york-jets).

Patriots can clinch if:

They beat or tie the Chicago Bears (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/chi/chicago-bears).
The Miami Dolphins (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/mia/miami-dolphins) lose or tie (versus Jets) plus the Jacksonville Jaguars (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/jac/jacksonville-jaguars) lose or tie (versus Oakland Raiders (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/oak/oakland-raiders)).
The Dolphins lose or tie plus the Indianapolis Colts (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ind/indianapolis-colts) lose or tie (versus Tennessee Titans (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ten/tennessee-titans)).
There are additional scenarios for the Patriots to clinch if they secure the strength of victory tiebreaker over certain teams this week.


Jets can clinch if:

They beat the Dolphins plus the San Diego Chargers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/sd/san-diego-chargers) lose or tie (Kansas City Chiefs (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/kc/kansas-city-chiefs)) plus the Jaguars lose or tie (versus the Raiders).
They beat the Dolphins plus the San Diego Chargers lose or tie (Kansas City Chiefs) plus the Colts lose or tie (versus the Titans).
They beat the Dolphins plus the Raiders lose or tie (versus the Jaguars) plus both the Chargers and Colts lose.


Lets not let them clinch against us.
Let them try to do it against Pitt next week or in Chicago the following week.

Yeh right.

nyjunc
12-08-2010, 03:21 PM
It's pretty fun seeing clinching scenarios as early as this week. I don't think we clinch this week but hopefully by next week.

DirkDiggler
12-08-2010, 03:44 PM
It's pretty fun seeing clinching scenarios as early as this week. I don't think we clinch this week but hopefully by next week.
I hope you guys crash and Burn. But thats just me.

Fins1971
12-08-2010, 03:51 PM
I hope you guys crash and Burn. But thats just me.

I'm there with you.

72champagne
12-08-2010, 04:11 PM
a dolphins victory will make tony fist pump & rex cry. i guarantee it.

El Squid
12-08-2010, 04:17 PM
Wouldn't it be sweet if it came down to the Dolphins beating the Pats for the Jets to clinch the AFCE title and home field. I mean it can happen.