PDA

View Full Version : Trading down.. A likely possibility.

GABO152
03-10-2012, 03:13 PM
Now that the possibility of trading up to two is out the window, is time to sit back a re-asses from a draft perspective.

While I am not a draft expert, and I don't pretend to be, there are a couple of key facts that have jumped out at me in regards to the Dolphins position in this draft.

First, the Dolphins areas of need do not match, in value, with what might be available by the time we're on the clock.

Secondly, areas targeted as needs show either great depth, making players of comparable talent available in later picks. Or, show a significant drop after the top tier, in which case, 2nd tier players are not worth a top 10 pick.

Caveat; This is pretty obvious, but I must mention it in order not to get destroyed on the comments.... If my believe is that there is a void of value for this years 1st round 7-12 picks. Than why would any team want to trade up and get stuck in this same ambiguous position? The answer is that we better hope and pray that a team is so in love with one blue chipper that we are able to satisfy their need at a favorable fee. And at the same time we also need help from the top. If a top team reaches on their pick, it will cause for a blue chipper to fall, this is when we strike

Blue Chippers (as per me, in no particular order) Luck/Griffin/Kalil/Claiborne/Richardson/Couples/Blackmon.

Needs Vs Value:
1) Pass Rush: Only one elite Pass Rusher on this years draft. Couples, ideally would make the perfect pick. Impact position, Impact player.. But realistically, there are so many red flags on this guy that you would think he was a Hurricane Warning... My opinion, let someone else take the chance. Seen too many like him not make it enough to not feel comfortable with picking him for my team. Others like Upshaw and Ingram would make a lot more sense, but would definitive reaches at # 8 overall.