PDA

View Full Version : A Little advice needed

Dajesus
03-28-2004, 01:29 AM
I work at Best Buy and untill today I was the tech bench supervisor. I love my job. I don't really love selling things but I am a great salesman, but I get to work on computers witch is my favorite hobbie. Basicly I would leave work every day in a good mood, witch I think is very important to enjoy what you do. Today the whole company eliminated the postion of Tech Supervisor along with many other leadership postions. They merged computers and the tech bench in to one department. They made a postion for Computer area manager witch they gave to a current manager that had his job eliminated. I have no desire to obtain that postion mainly because it would elimintate my favorite thing about my job, working on computers.

This is where I need advice. The guy that has the job now, I absolutely hate. He is a cocky pr!ck that has no people skills, and knows nothing about computers. I am more than likely going to move on to a different feild, but that could take anywhere from 2 weeks to 6 months. So I am forced to work directly under someone I can't stand that will not add any thing positive to the department. How would you deal with the guy?

Clumpy
03-28-2004, 01:37 AM
Simply do your job and avoid conflict. It's likely you'll end up losing in any conflict. Also, do you have vacation time coming? If so, use it during the 2 weeks-6 months. Try to make that time frame disappear as well. Make it 2 weeks to 3 months if you can

Good Luck :up:

themole
03-28-2004, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by clumpedplatelet
Simply do your job and avoid conflict. It's likely you'll end up losing in any conflict. Also, do you have vacation time coming? If so, use it during the 2 weeks-6 months. Try to make that time frame disappear as well. Make it 2 weeks to 3 months if you can

Good Luck :up:

That's very good advice Clump.