PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy rookie needs some draft advice

finbiz
08-30-2004, 01:07 AM
Ok I've never done fantasy football before, but took over this team in a keeper league. We get to protect 5 guys and my team is

QB: B Johnson
RB: L Tomlinson
WR: T Holt, S Smith, J Horn

There's 10 teams in the league and everyone has protected 2 RB I decided to not protect C Martin. Most of the top guys are already protected. Only top ones remaining are
QB: T Green, Brad,y and one of either Hasselbeck or McNabb might be available (unless the team protects both qbs)
RB: M Faulk, T Henry

I've got the 2nd last pick in the draft. My question is how I should draft my remaining players. Obviously if, Faulk is around I take him 1st. But what if he's gone, how do ppl usually draft in these keeper leagues when they already have 2 RBs? Do I take the best RB remaining regardless or should I upgrade QB?
Also when are TE usually taken? Is Winslow worth taking earlier? Gonzalez and Shockey are protected already.

any advice would be helpful
thanks
Jason

MikeO
08-30-2004, 09:06 AM
Your in a complicated league, what I would do is take the best player available. Even if its not a need position you can always trade that person and pick up a need position.

If its a Keeper league someone like Travis Henry is very valuable. Since NEXT year he won't be in Buffalo and will be a featured back somehwhere. You gotta think long-term and short-term in the league you are in.

finbiz
08-31-2004, 02:35 AM
Well, Henry is now protected, and so are McNabb and Hasselbeck.

T Green is available.
The RBs remaining are T Barber, C Martin, TJ Duckett, T Jones, E George, L Suggs, W Green

Who's the best out of these?

Is Stephen Jackson worth taking?

thanks

Jwcolour
08-31-2004, 04:33 PM
T Green is usually pretty solid even though he doesn't really have any great targets other than Tony Gonz...