View Full Version : College football hall nominates 75

03-14-2005, 04:57 PM
Lawrence Taylor, Troy Aikman and Heisman Trophy winners John Huarte and Mike Rozier are among the 75 former players on the College Football Hall of Fame Division I-A ballot.

The list was released Wednesday by The National Football Foundation.

Among the 10 coaches vying for induction in 2005 are Pat Dye, John Cooper and Don Nehlen.

The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 members of the foundation. Their votes will be recorded and submitted to the foundation's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class.

The Honors Court, an 11-member panel chaired by former NCAA president Gene Corrigan, is comprised of athletic directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Fame coaches and members of the media.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced in late April and inducted at an awards dinner Dec. 6 in New York. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., in 2006.

Taylor, a star linebacker at North Carolina, is already a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Aikman grew up in Henryetta, Okla., played quarterback for Oklahoma before transferring to UCLA and went on to become the first overall selection in the NFL draft by the Dallas Cowboys.

Huarte, a quarterback, won the Heisman for Notre Dame in 1964. Rozier, a tailback, was a Heisman winner for Nebraska in 1983.

Also among the players on the ballot are SMU running back Eric Dickerson, Oklahoma running back Joe Washington and Ohio State linebacker Chris Spielman.


03-18-2005, 02:13 AM
Lawrence Taylors the only one that doesnt deserve to go...the damn guy was pumping steroids since highschool