Welcome to FinHeaven Fans Forums! We're glad to have you here. Please feel free to browse the forum. We'd like to invite you to join our community; doing so will enable you to view additional forums and post with our other members.



VIP Members don't see these ads. Join VIP Now
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567
Results 61 to 64 of 64

Thread: Holmes to miss multiple games. Foot x-rays being passed arond.

  1. -61
    nyjunc's Avatar
    Hall Of Famer

    Status:
    Offline
    WPA:
    Join date:
    Mar 2004
    Posts:
    27,986
    vCash:
    19348
    Loc:
    New York
    Thanks / No Thanks
    Trophies
    Blog Entries:
    1
    he was in stride, you don't need to take 2 strides then keep running.
    Quote Quote  

  2. -62
    The New Guy's Avatar
    Starter

    Status:
    Offline
    WPA:
    Join date:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    1,863
    vCash:
    59451
    Thanks / No Thanks
    1972 Dolphins Logo
    Quote Originally Posted by nyjunc View Post
    he was in stride, you don't need to take 2 strides then keep running.
    Where do you come up with this stuff? That is not what the rule states.


    Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:


    A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:


    (a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

    (b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

    (c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game.

    Williams fulfilled part A and part B, but not C. He was immediately hit after part B, which made it impossible to fulfill part C.
    Quote Quote  

  3. -63
    nyjunc's Avatar
    Hall Of Famer

    Status:
    Offline
    WPA:
    Join date:
    Mar 2004
    Posts:
    27,986
    vCash:
    19348
    Loc:
    New York
    Thanks / No Thanks
    Trophies
    Blog Entries:
    1
    but he got both feet down, right? and was in stride, right?
    Quote Quote  

  4. -64
    The New Guy's Avatar
    Starter

    Status:
    Offline
    WPA:
    Join date:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    1,863
    vCash:
    59451
    Thanks / No Thanks
    1972 Dolphins Logo
    Quote Originally Posted by nyjunc View Post
    but he got both feet down, right? and was in stride, right?
    It doesn't matter if he was in stride when the initial 2 feet touch the ground after the catch. Getting both feet down after the catch only fulfills part B. You have to get both feet down and then maintain control of the ball long enough to perform a football move. If you can't do that becasue you getting knocked out of bounds, you need to have control of the ball throughout the entire process of contacting the ground.
    Quote Quote  

Similar Threads

  1. Breaking News: Nate Garner has foot surgery, breaks foot again
    By FinAtic8480 in forum Miami Dolphins Forum
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 05:32 PM
  2. Replies: 73
    Last Post: 06-19-2007, 06:11 PM
  3. Seau Could Miss A Few Games
    By Nublar7 in forum Miami Dolphins Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-26-2005, 01:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •