the bottom line is this, our guy jumped on the ball as 2:02 was turning to 2:01, he rolled around on the ground and magically the clock stopped at 2:01.
If the clock actually stopped before he had possession and was down by contact (like you guys were claiming), then I would agree. That is not what happened.
he was rolling on the ground w/ the ball at 2:01 and magically it stopped at 2:01.
That ^ is not magic. It is having possession and being down by contact and the clock stopping like it is supposed to. He was not rolling around, but even if he was, you don't need to be completely still to be ruled down.
except tha you can't b/c our guy JUST jumped on the ball and was still rolling w/ it, a still shot doesn't show that. The clock should have run to at least 2:00 if not 1:59 or 1:58 the way the clocks always run.
You are the one that can not back up what you are saying. All you can do is bring up some examples when the clock ran an extra second or 2 after the play was dead. So what? Bad calls happen all the time. We don't use those as examples to make up new rules. If the Jets were down by a touchdown with 7 seconds to go and completed a pass, went out of bounds at the 1 with the play being signaled dead with 2 seconds left, would you be arguing that those 2 seconds SHOULD tick off? I think not.