Yes, I am aware that this question is essentially irrelevant. You could say that it came to me in a bad dream last night concerning all this talk about the importance of rushing attempts and first downs.
Question - if a team scores a touchdown on offense outside of a goal-to-go distance, does the team get credited with a first down as well--en passant, so to speak? I am 99.9% sure that the answer is 'no', although logic seems to dictate that the answer should be 'yes'.
If a runner were tackled at the one yard line, the team would be credited with a first down because a) the required yardage was attained and b) the down reverted back to first down.
It seems that the down reverting back to first supersedes the attainment of the required yardage. Perhaps this is required as first downs attained via penalty do not require that the necessary yardage be attained e.g. defensive holding.
For those compiling statistics and doing analysis, however, it seems silly and inconsistent not to reward a team with a first down on a play that attains the necessary yardage only because it results in a touchdown rather than being stopped on the one yard line.
Don't worry. I won't be drafting a petition to send to the rules committee.
But if anyone felt that assigning a first down in such situations was logical and consistent with what first down statistics are designed to measure, I'd be curious to hear others' opinions.
"Honey, I need a refill on my glass of wine..."